Audio tour

Audio tourShort history of the Castle of Caprese

2 Fermate tour

  1. Sommario Auditour
  2. Sommario Auditour

    The first definite written evidence mentioning Caprese dates back to 1082.  Tradition has it that its origins go back further to the period of the wars between the Lombards and Byzantines; the Lombards left a significant mark on the area as a document of 1070 mentions 'Longobardi de Caprise'. In 1324, after a long siege, the Castle was conquered by the Tarlati family from Arezzo. In 1384 the  area of Caprese came under the control of Florence, and the Podesteria was established. The following centuries saw the decline of the Castle, until in 1860, the discovery of Michelangelo Buonarroti’s birth certificate initiated a series of restorations. Nowadays the Castle is made up of the “corte alta” (upper courtyard), with the ruins of a tower and  a 14th century hall  incorporated into a more  recent building, and the  “corte bassa” (lower courtyard) with two, well preserved stone buildings, the  14th century Palazzo Clusini and Palazzo del Podestà (Governor’s House), birth place of Michelangelo.

  3. 1 Castle gateway
  4. 2 Bell tower
  5. 3 Palazzo Clusini
  6. 4 Arnaldo Zocchi's Monument
  7. 5 Governor's House, The birthplace of Michelangelo
  8. 6 Plaster cast galleries
  9. 7 Giuliano Amidei, Madonna with Child and Saints. 15th century
  10. 8 Collection of 19th and 20th century sculpture
  11. 9 The Castle's Water tank
  12. 10 The Postern
  13. 11 The Church of St. John the Baptist
  1. Sommario Auditour

    The first definite written evidence mentioning Caprese dates back to 1082.  Tradition has it that its origins go back further to the period of the wars between the Lombards and Byzantines; the Lombards left a significant mark on the area as a document of 1070 mentions 'Longobardi de Caprise'. In 1324, after a long siege, the Castle was conquered by the Tarlati family from Arezzo. In 1384 the  area of Caprese came under the control of Florence, and the Podesteria was established. The following centuries saw the decline of the Castle, until in 1860, the discovery of Michelangelo Buonarroti’s birth certificate initiated a series of restorations. Nowadays the Castle is made up of the “corte alta” (upper courtyard), with the ruins of a tower and  a 14th century hall  incorporated into a more  recent building, and the  “corte bassa” (lower courtyard) with two, well preserved stone buildings, the  14th century Palazzo Clusini and Palazzo del Podestà (Governor’s House), birth place of Michelangelo.

Recensioni

2 recensioni

Recensisci questo tour
A minimum rating of 1 star is required.
Please fill in your name.
  • Michele & Ilaria

    5 out of 5 rating 08-27-2019

    Molto bella ed interessante ed utile!;)

  • Luciano

    5 out of 5 rating 05-11-2018

    Un modo fantastico per scoprire dove nacque Michelangelo Buonarroti!